Monday, 28 December 2015

Book Review | Russell Boyd | The Chorus Effect

The Chorus Effect



This book was sent to me for free from the author for review. I did not pay any money for this book and neither did I get paid any money to review this book. I purely got just the book for free. 

Author: Russell Boyd
Title: The Chorus Effect
Genre: Fiction, Science Fiction

Synopsis: Until recently, Chintz had been a relatively normal guy with a relatively normal cat. For example, neither he, nor his cat, had ever journeyed to a synthetic universe. He had never encountered a teleporting baby or an emotionally mature computer. He could count on one hand the number of philosophical discussions he'd had with people holding multiple degrees in advanced physics. And this far, his relationship with the voices in his head had been purely platonic.
Suddenly Chintz finds himself working alongside a dysfunctional team of scientists and their astounding creation, seeking answers to age-old questions - answers that could change our concept of humanity. Of course, that's only if they can survive federal law enforcement, starvation, psychopathic figments of imagination, the hostile old man who lives across the street and the end of the "known" universe.
Well, actually it's the end of "a" universe, that only some people know about. But for Chintz, that may not be any better at all. 

Review: I had a really hard time getting into this book (this is not a reflection on the book but a personal matter of mine) but I can tell that I found the beginning of the book confusing but in a way that made me want to read on until it made sense. As I struggled to focus on reading this book it took me over a month to finish reading; However, once I found that I was able to focus on reading and get into the book I read the majority of it over two or three days. I am glad that I did not let my personal issues affect me sticking to reading this book as eventually I got hooked to the story and just couldn't put the book down as I really wanted to stay on the storyline and know what was happening with each of the characters right to the end. I felt that if I put the book down that I would miss something as though I was watching a program or movie but that could not be paused. 
This was an unusual but excellent read and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is willing to stick it out even if the story is hard to get lost in at the beginning. Just give this book a chance as it is more than worth the time it takes to read it. I find this book extremely interesting as it shows what computers could progress to in the future and the dangers of trying to advance technology to an almost human level. It shows that computers are not made to handle things of a human level such as emotions. Computers should not surpass the limits of technology as there is no way to predict what could happen if computers became more human. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Tuesday, 20 October 2015

Book Review | Michel Logue-Provost | The Rehab

The Rehab: Volume 1 (Apokalypse)


Author: Michel Logue-Provost
Title: The Rehab: Book One Of Apokalypse
Genre: Science Fiction, Fantasy, Dystopian

Synopsis: In a world once ravaged by nuclear winter, with the last known city falling into turmoil, a brassy young police officer by the name of Frank William Fasaro strives to carry out his duties whilst struggling with serious questions about his past, eventually learning that nothing at all is quite as it seems. With the city in chaos, with the awoken growing bolder by the minute and his brothers in arms tied up in a losing war, he may not have the time that he needs to find the answers he's looking for. But those answers might just find him first. He may not realise it, but the clock is ticking. 
When Doctor Edward Munro's prime subject was scheduled for termination, first he was sad, then angry. The commission of Higher Sciences was throwing away his first, his baby, his point of pride. He'd spent over twenty years of his life working on that confounded program of theirs and was there from its very inception. For them to tear away the key element of his research when he was so close to finding a solution to all their problems was frustrating to no end. Unwilling to part with his life's work, this mild mannered curious little man will dig deep to find the courage and the allies that he needs to take back the work he started so long ago. And finish it. 
After an anonymously delivered package showed up on his desk, Captain Leonard Boston couldn't believe its contents. Someone wanted him to believe that one of his own was in league with the awoken. Sure, there's been rats in the agency before - that was nothing new - but this was someone he knew well. This was someone he respected, even if he did get on his last nerve sometimes. The video evidence all but painted the accused guilty and left the captain feeling sick to the stomach but he just couldn't accept what he was seeing. He didn't like it but he didn't really have a choice: he'd have to investigate. 

Review: At the start of the book I found it really hard to get into the story but I am glad that I stuck at reading it because by chapter three I was hooked and found it near to impossible to put the book down and stop reading. This book swaps between character storylines; I find this a truly interesting way to write and it managed to hook my attention and reel me further into the book. The changing character storylines make me want to keep reading to find out what is happening with each of the characters. 
I absolutely am in love with this book and I am absolutely honoured that the author sent me a signed copy for review otherwise I would not have known about this gem of a book. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys following character storylines intently and following multiple storylines at the same time. It is interesting that one chapter you can be reading about one character and then the next chapter snaps you away from that storyline into a completely different one. 
I just really enjoyed reading this book and can see myself enjoying it many more times in the future and sharing it with others so that they can enjoy it just as much as I did. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Tuesday, 6 October 2015

Book Review | Victoria Browne | Third Time Lucky: The Honey Trap

Third Time Lucky: The Honey Trap


Author: Victoria Browne
Title: Third Time Lucky: The Honey Trap
Genre: Business, Finance, Law, Romance, Society, Politics, Philosophy, Social Sciences, Multicultural Studies

Synopsis: A fast moving witty chick lit drama that will take you on a journey of laughter and revelations. Good friends Sarah a sensible simple soul, Laura bitchy complicated, Beth a ‘too cool for school’ high school teacher, and Jess a funky hairdresser, decide to honey trap Jess's new American boyfriend Richard. How could such a simple plan go wrong? Just add Jess’s new flat mate, hot sexy Elise to the mix, a few glasses of wine and you have a cocktail fit for disaster – especially when Elise honey traps the wrong boyfriend! Good friends are all Sarah needs when her uncomplicated life is jettisoned into chaos. Dan, Sarah’s boyfriend makes some shady life choices. But who is friend and who is foe? Wealthy bachelor Lee Preston sets his sights on Sarah and all Lee wants is to make her happy. Life could be fantastic when money is no object and your closet is filled with designer shoes, Oh, and his with secrets.

Review: This is a book that crosses through many genres so it is much more exciting than a book that is connected to a specific genre. I really enjoyed reading this book and got lost in the story from the moment that I started to read this book. I felt like I was actually a part of the story and not just reading  a book. I would enjoy this book more if I had a physical copy of the book as I just prefer to have something that I can hold and feel rather than digital copies. I would recommend this book to any avid reader who enjoys getting lost in a story. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | Matthew Alan | What We Leave Behind

What We Leave Behind


Author: Matthew Alan
Title: What We Leave Behind
Genre: Romance

Synopsis: What We Leave Behind - A story about struggle, a story of hope, and mostly, a story about love. A journey with a unique young girl who is so sure of what is out there waiting for her, that she never compromises her belief in finding it. Jane Rawley Solomon's humor, character, and passion for others, serve as a reminder that we choose our own path to happiness, regardless of the events that impact our lives.

Review: This was a fantastic read and I could just not stop reading. I found myself lost in the book like I was a part of the story and not reading a book. I enjoyed this book so much that I plan to invest into the paperback copy so that I can enjoy the story over and over again. I would recommend this book to any avid reader who loves romance novels. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | Dan Petrosini | Am I The Killer?

Am I the Killer?


Author: Dan Petrosini
Title: Am I The Killer?
Genre: Crime, Thriller, Mystery

Synopsis: The juxtaposition of Peter's first person world with a third person investigator's efforts creates a satisfyingly multi-faceted, well rounded story that grabs readers from the first few paragraphs and doesnt let go to the unexpected end. - Midwest Book Review A brain-injured veteran is arrested for murder soon after he returns home to New Jersey from Afghanistan. Peter has a motive. The murder victim bullied Peter throughout his youth, and, on the night of the murder, Peter discovers the bully has stolen his fianceĆ© while Peter served overseas. Determining the truth about what happened that fateful night is complicated by Peter’s brain injury, as it either prevents him from recalling events or provides him with the perfect cover. Detective Luca, in the midst of trying to salvage his marriage, leads the investigation but does not believe the Marine had a role in the killing and pursues other leads as political pressure to solve the case rises . However, evidence develops and even Peter’s brother, Vinny, who dropped everything to help his injured brother recover, begins to question Peter’s guilt. After Peter's arrest, his lawyers, faced with a client either unwilling or unable to assist in his own defense, recommend he cop a plea. Detective Luca attempts to move on but is haunted by an old case that fuels his obsession to determine the truth about what happened that night.

Review: This is an excellent book that I got completely lost in from the first page. I finished this book on the same day that I started reading it and I felt like I was a part of the story and not just a outsider reading into the story. In the near future I may treat myself to the paperback copy of this book and read it again and again. I would recommend this book to any avid reader who is interested in crime and mystery stories. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | Aurelia McNeil | The Ball Is In Your Court: Learning A Foreign Language

The BALL is in Your Court--Learning a foreign language


Author: Aurelia McNeil
Title: The Ball Is In Your Court: Learning A Foreign Language
Genre: Languages, Learning

Synopsis: The BALL is in Your Court--Learning a Foreign Language provides anyone who wishes to learn a foreign language with meaningful direction to make their language learning a productive experience. This book answers over 50 commonly asked questions. It will provide the reader with tips and suggestions on selecting learning materials, interacting with native speakers, and finding a language teacher. As a bonus, The BALL is in Your Court contains a list of over 35 ideas for language learning!

Review: This is a good book that provides ideas on how to make learning a language easier. This book also answers questions about learning languages and shows that it is up to you to have the determination and will power in learning a new language. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | Aurelia McNeil | 7 Ways To Make Money From Home

7 Ways to Make Money From Home


Author: Aurelia McNeil
Title: 7 Ways To Make Money From Home
Genre: Business, Finance, Law, Careers, Small Business, Entrepreneurship, Home Based Business

Synopsis: Save time from searching the Internet. Avoid scams. Immediately learn legitimate 7 Ways to Make Money From Home. Find out SPECIFIC detailed information on what, when, where, and how to get started. Get tips from the author who has earned money from EACH of these 7 money-making strategies. Plus receive two bonus ways to make money at home. Start immediately by purchasing this book today.

Rating: This was a good book that contained information of ways to make some money. This book is very informative and would help any newcomer to the business world with advice on what they can do to make money. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in making money or is new to business and looking for information on what they can do to earn from a home business. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Monday, 5 October 2015

Book Review | Teri J. Dluznieski | Cafe Of The Hungry Ghosts

Cafe' of the Hungry Ghosts: Behind the Veil of Ordinary


Author: Teri J. Dluznieski
Title: Cafe Of The Hungry Ghosts: Behind The Veil Of Ordinary
Genre: Literature, Fiction, Coming Of Age, Occult

Synopsis: There is the world we know: the Seen. All around that, lies the Unseen.
The Shaman stands between these two worlds that weave together in an intricate dance. The Unseen worlds are vast, and filled with things beyond our comprehension. But the Unseen affects us, either way. 
Wayra is one of the last of the Andean Shaman. She grew up learning all the secret mysteries of life and the universe. In school, she studies the Environment. Outside of school, Mountains, rivers, and clouds speak to her. She journeys between the realms of the living, and the dead: tuned into those countless energies that affect our world. In the ordinary world, she struggles to find her place- both as a young adult, and as a healer. A healer in a society that no longer understands the power and importance of cosmic forces. 
At 19, Wayra is coming into her power- finding confidence as she navigates these worlds. Suddenly, there is something new in the Unseen: stalking Wayra. It begins with trivial things, but quickly becomes bigger things. Chaotic terrifying dreams in unknown landscapes become omens of danger to come. Her animal totems disappear from her life, her friends are in danger. The darkness in the Unseen begins consuming her life. Wayra must figure out what the force drawing toward her is, because it might be more than her own personal world at stake. 

Review: This is an excellent book and it kept my attention from start to finish. I just could not bring myself to stop reading and finished the book very quickly. If there was a printed copy of the book then I would be sure to buy it so I could enjoy it over and over again. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves to read stories about the occult. This is also a good book for anyone who is an avid reader. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | Robin Raven | Next Stop: Nina

Next Stop: Nina


Author: Robin Raven
Title: Next Stop: Nina
Genre: Romance, Time Travel

Synopsis: There's something different about Nina; she never felt comfortable in this world. As she struggles to cope with the pain of her present and past, the young girl's life is changed through the beauty of art. When Nina grows up and winds up in over her head in a dark place, she finds herself somehow transported to another time when nothing is quite what it seems. She must fight the horrors of her past all over again. Along the way, she faces greater challenges than she imagined and enjoys sweet surprises when she discovers true love. This is a character-driven novel with a heroine who faces suicidal depression on her own terms, and that's just the beginning. At its heart, Next Stop: Nina is a love story that takes on the types of love that change us and allow us to discover the truth in ourselves.

Review: I really enjoyed this book and could not stop myself from reading it. I found that whenever I had free time I was reading this book and I had finished it before I knew it. This book is an unusual mix of romance and time travel; these two genres are not normally put together but it was an absolute amazing mix of genres. I would recommend this book to any avid reader. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | Mae Redding | The Colour Of Jade

The Color of Jade (Jade Series Book 1)


Author: Mae Redding
Title: The Colour Of Jade
Genre: Teen, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Fiction, Fantasy, Steampunk, Dystopian, Action, Adventure

Synopsis: ‘The Color of Jade’ a YA post-apocalyptic, dystopian romance that fans of the Hunger Games and Divergent series will love. After a devastating illness ravages the earth, sixteen year old Jade Kennington finds herself caught in the middle of a battle between Morrison and his Militia who is threatening their way of life and her brother Kane who is trying to preserve it. She meets Gage. He is confident, strong, and incredibly handsome and he captivates her attention with his rugged charm and chivalry. After Jade inadvertently kills a ruthless and influential Militia member during a struggle, Morrison swears retaliation on the Kennington family. Forced to leave her home Jade finds herself in the uncertain position to trust Gage with her safety, her heart and to keep her hidden as they try to pull her into the middle of the inevitable battle. 

Review: As this is said to be like the Hunger Games and the Divergent series I was really excited to read this book and it did not disappoint me in the slightest. This book was full of action and adventure and I felt like I was a part of the story and not just the reader. This book crosses through many different genres so this will appeal to many readers. Books that cross many genres are much more exciting than books only falling into one genre. I would recommend this book to any reader that enjoys action and adventure and love to get lost in a book where they feel like they are living the story and not just reading a book. If there was a printed copy of this book I would definitely buy a copy and read it many times over. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | Ellie Firestone | Super Emmy: Introducing Splodge

Super Emmy: Introducing Splodge: Volume 1


Author: Ellie Firestone
Title: Super Emmy: Introducing Splodge
Genre: Children's Books, Fiction, Animals

Synopsis: Super Emmy, Super Sporty's little cousin, makes her superhero debut in this action-packed book for young readers! Emmy and her superhero horse friends, Allie and Iris, are all set to save the world with some awesome powers and a brand-new headquarters, but Splodge, an evil alien bent on ruling the world, has other ideas. Can super-friendship overcome super-evil?

Review: This is the absolute perfect book for a parent to read with their child or children. I could see what many children would enjoy about this story. I think that parents and kids will enjoy this story alike. If I had children I would be sure to purchase a physical copy of this book so I could read it to them at bedtime. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | Prex J.D.V. Ybasco | To Be Continued

To Be Continued: Volume 1 (TBC)


Author: Prex JDV Ybasco
Title: To Be Continued
Genre: Literary Fiction, Young Adult

Synopsis: Not all stories end happily nor tragically. Most of them just need to be continued. Azalea Anthony is a writer, or what she claims to be.Vim Harvey is her friend, or at least what she wants to believe.Jasmine Morrish is Azalea's archenemy, or so what Jash believes Azalea makes people believe...er--There are other characters, too: like Warren, the basketball player, Beatrix, the model, Tom, the perfect excuse of a brother, Eclaire, the eccentric bff, etc.They all hangout in one place where they can enjoy a steaming cup of debates, an aroma of gossips, a side dish of basketball, a topping of drama, and a menu of articles : The Big Coffee Shop.

Review: This was an excellent read and I could just not stop reading the book. I had it finished on the same day that I started it as I found it hard to drag myself out of the book. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves to get lost in a good fiction book and also to anyone who loves Young Adult stories. I enjoyed this book so much that I plan to purchase the printed copy of this book. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | Katheryn J Avila | Reckoning

Reckoning (The Breach Book 1)


Author: Katheryn J. Avila
Title: The Breach Trilogy: Reckoning
Genre: Literature, Fiction, Action, Adventure, Crime, Thriller, Mystery, Fantasy, Romance, Urban, Teen, Young Adult

Synopsis: “It’s just in your imagination,” her parents said. 
It isn’t until after her parents die that Lexia discovers a secret they did everything to keep from her - that she has supernatural abilities. Her reality is shattered and rewritten with this knowledge, the trauma triggering the powers her parents tried for so long to suppress. 
With the help of her new family - an aunt she didn’t know she had and a pair of twin cousins - Lexia embraces the change and her aunt’s training as a coping mechanism, with all the enthusiasm she can muster. Years later, as a reporter for a local newspaper, her exposure to the supernatural takes a dark turn when she finds herself involved in a series of seemingly random, bloody murders. Lexia discovers the murders are being committed by demons and, faced with the possibility of becoming a target, does everything she can to keep her family safe - even if it means becoming more involved in the supernatural than she’d like. 
In the struggle to keep her family safe, Lexia learns more than she bargained for as she delves deeper into a supernatural war dating back to before she was born. 

Review: This was a fantastic read and I found it really easy to get into as I am a huge fan of crime and mystery stories. I could not stop reading this book and I found that as I was so interested in the book and just could not stop reading it. I would love this book if it was available in a printed copy. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading the genres that are listed above. I like that the story spans across many genres instead of just sitting mainly in the one genre. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | G.K. DeRosa | Wilder: The Guardian Series

Wilder: The Guardian Series: Volume 1


Author: G.K. DeRosa
Title: Wilder: The Guardian Series
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Fiction, Science Fiction

Synopsis: All that Celeste Wilder ever wanted was to find someone who would sweep her off her feet like she had seen in countless romantic movies. When she meets the gorgeous and mysterious Constantin brothers her senior year of high school, she gets much more than what she had bargained for. As they introduce her to an exciting supernatural world that she never imagined existed, she makes a startling discovery about her own family legacy and is forced to make a decision that will change her life forever.

Review: This is an excellent read that gripped my attention instantly and I could just not drag myself away from reading it so had it finished the day that I started it. I would read this book over and over again if I had the paperback copy of it. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves to read young adult books. This book would also appeal to readers who enjoy fantasy, fiction and science fiction. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sunday, 4 October 2015

Book Review | Melissa Silvey | Prisoner

Prisoner (All of You Book 1)


Author: Melissa Silvey
Title: Prisoner
Genre: Romance, Fiction, Military, Erotica, Adult Fiction

Synopsis: All I have to do to spend another night with her, is kill... 
She's a bad girl who does whatever she wants. But when tragic circumstances happen in the charmed life of Detective Melanie "Lani" Vaden, she realizes that not everything in the world is about her. She makes a crazy decision, and with the help of her partner and step-father, she carries it out. Little did she know, she'd end up meeting a knight in distress, and she was the only princess who could help him out. 
Antony "Tony" Roman was unjustly imprisoned for trumped up charges he did not commit. He had no hope of ever seeing the light of day again. Stuck in solitary confinement, he hadn't even seen another person in years, his only interaction being with his guard, through the hatch. 
What happens when these two are literally thrown together? Selfish, self-centered Lani has finally found someone who needs her. Tony can't ask the beautiful creature who comes to him, almost like an angel, for help, because he knows there's no hope for him. He can give her nothing in return, except every piece of himself. 
Adult Only 18+ m/f erotic romance (very brief f/f scene)

Review: This a book only for the adult readers as there is scenes of a sexual nature through out this story. Normally I do not read books containing adult content but I did not mind this book. I would recommend this book to readers who enjoy erotica stories or the odd sexual scene throughout stories. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | Vitor Rodrigues | Invasion Of The Earthmen

Invasion of the Earthmen


Author: Vitor Rodrigues
Title: Invasion Of The Earthmen
Genre: Contemporary Fiction, Metaphysical, Visionary, Contemporary, Science Fiction, Fiction, Fantasy

Synopsis: Henry Livingstone is met by intelligence agents and recruited for a humanitarian mission into space exploration, or so he is told. His transpersonal skills have qualified him for the job and he is happy to help... until he meets Gael that is, the Welcoming Coordinator from the Planet Ixnor. Livingstone soon discovers that "space travel" is not the only agenda Star 1 has onboard and along with an arsenal of nuclear warheads the earthmen set about pillaging Ixnor's natural resources. What the earthmen do not know is that the Ixnorians have long since transcended war and crime and that Livingstone, the only one capable of returning Star 1 to earth, is secretly falling in love with Gael. Will Livingstone's loyalty to earth remain intact or will his love for Gael save the planet Ixnor from an imminent Invasion of the Earthmen? 

Review: This was an excellent fiction story that I found myself lost in from the very beginning. This is an excellent story and I could read this over and over again. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good fantasy fiction story. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Saturday, 3 October 2015

Book Review | Violet Cross | Survivors: Secrets

Survivors: Secrets


Author: Violet Cross
Title: Survivors: Secrets
Genre: Science Fiction, Fantasy, Dystopian, Genetic Engineering

Synopsis: Lacey Young is a survivor. So is her sister, her best friend, and all the other young adults they share a hotel with now that the world has ended. 
Lacey Young is a leader. That’s why when the lives of her crew and the people she loves become endangered, she must go against the odds and fight to take back what is theirs. 
However, with secrets and betrayal as common as the grains of sand that smother the landscape, what once appeared to be a big problem threatens to become a tragedy. Blood is spilled, friendships are tested, and all the while the lurking threat that’s responsible for sending the world into chaos is closer than they all think. 
Lacey has a secret. A secret she’s been repressing and hiding from those closest to her. It’s a secret that she knows can help save her friends and bring back some small semblance of peace. 
But at what cost? 

Review: I fell into this book from the moment that I started reading it. I found myself lost in this book and just could not stop reading it and I finished it within the same day that I started it as it was that good. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes science fiction and fantasy stories. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | Haydn Wilks | Americosis

Americosis Vol. 1


Author: Haydn Wilks
Title: Americosis
Genre: Science Fiction, Fantasy, Time Travel

Synopsis: A naked man arrives in New Mexico claiming to have traveled through time. 
He says that he's America's savior. 
A bizarre sexually-transmitted infection in New York takes control of people's bodies and burns them out in an incessant drive to infect others. 
And a Presidential candidate is conversing with angels. 
His aides think he's crazy. 
The electorate might not agree with them. 
It could all be madness. It might be the apocalypse. 

Review: This was an excellent and odd read that I got into easily and found it hard to stop reading. I found this story very interesting and found myself lost in the story; like I was a part of the story. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves science fiction and time travel stories. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wednesday, 30 September 2015

Book Review | Georgia Payne | Synergy

Synergy


Author: Georgia Payne
Title: Synergy
Genre: Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Romance

Synopsis: When Dee Thompson meets international star Jason Taylor in her hometown of Detroit, neither of them expected to see each other after their one night encounter. Dee's world is a far cry from Jason's luxury lifestyle, and she's not willing to let him break down the walls she's spent years building up, but Jason has always loved a challenge.

Review: This book was easy to settle into and I could just not stop reading it until I had finished the book. I do not normally like romance stories but I really enjoyed this story. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good romance and contemporary fiction story. However, I do wish that there was a printed version of this book.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | Bill Jacks | The Cobblepotts: Confederate Chipmunks & Carny Cooter

Confederate Chipmunks & Carny Cooter (The Cobblepotts Book 1)


Author: Bill Jacks
Title: The Cobblepotts: Confederate Chipmunks & Carny Cooter
Genre: Short Stories, Literature, Fiction, Humour, Dark Comedy, Satire

Synopsis: Do you crave unoffending fiction? 
A wholesome snack that's low in friction? 
If so, inside you'll find the words 
A greasy feast of tasteless turds 
But those for crass and bawdy wit 
Will savor every bite of shit! 
Welcome to Possum Holler, Mississippi, where critters are served on a stick… and might be related to whatever’s been getting in your trash bin. Home of the chaw chewin, stank walkin, pill swillin, leg missin, finger in a belly, punch you in the damn mouth cuz I done TOLD you bout BREATHIN when i’m WATCHIN THE WRASLIN…Cobblepotts: the most delightful redneck couple you’d never invite over for supper. 
Meet Patty Cobblepott: a certified Yak of a woman. Fueled on potted meat and Mountain Dew, she’ll roll her breasts up and push a Plymouth clear to the freeway, with the E-brake on, and then make balloon animals out of rebar. Her softness of brain is equally mighty; Patty meets all legal requirements for retardation. 
Meet Otis Cobblepott: a well-bearded, Southern sociopath, more than willing to step on man, woman, or child—preferably woman or child—to pursue a sudden flight of fancy. He’s slightly smarter than Patty, but slightly dumber than a Guinea Pig. He enjoys critter documentaries, lawn mower racing, sturdy women, and getting one over on Patty. 
Tag along as the Cobblepotts redefine absurdity and turn simple misunderstandings into barn burning blowouts. Can the world survive such an outrageous pair? Can they even survive each other? Peel back the many, ridiculous layers of this hillbilly onion; you may be disturbed to find that--at the core--the Cobblepotts are a lot like you. 
Southern rooted, pants poopingly hilarious, more clever than your mom, riddled with the best limericks of your life, obscene at times, violent at others, dark and cynical throughout; it’s really kind of a romantic comedy, if that’s possible. It either curb stomps the entire idea of relationships, or offers observations as a bit of hope; you'll have to decide which. One thing's for sure; it's not for the faint of heart. So put grandma to bed, crate your children, and open wide for a whole mess of unfiltered ignorance. 

Review: This is an absolutely fantastic read that I found it really easy to get into. I found that I could not stop reading this book once I had started it. I found this book to be funny and it was a fantastic short story. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good comedy story and likes to lose themselves into a good fiction book. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | R.J. Newbould | Spyrits


Author: RJ Newbould
Title: Spyrits
Genre: Fantasy, Fiction

Synopsis: When David meets Dr. Niklas Gruber for the first time, his inner-self knows that somehow they know each other.
Little could he suspect that Dr. Gruber was his Father in a former life over six thousand years ago.
Even when confronted with proof of sorts, he was totally incredulous.
Then one evening, the proof became undeniable.
Over time Dr. Gruber and his associates give powers to David, and his soul-mate Tanya, that are unmatched.
NSA and other organizations could only dream of having David and Tanya's investigative skills.
Some organizations will readily kill in an effort to learn the secret of their rumored hidden talents.
David and Tanya are at high risk of being the next ones sacrificed.

Review: This was a good read but I found it hard to get into at first. Once I was into the book I found it hard to stop reading and had it finished really quickly. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a fantasy story and wouldn't mind taking the time to get into a story. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Monday, 28 September 2015

Book Review | M. Gerrick | The Vanished Knight

The Vanished Knight: Volume 1 (The War of Six Crowns)


Author: M. Gerrick
Title: The Vanished Knight
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Fiction, Science Fiction

Synopsis: The entity living inside Callan’s soul orphaned her at age eleven. By the time she’s sixteen, it’s ensured her being shunted from one foster family to another. Her thirteenth foster assignment should be routine. Except...it's not. A psycho in medieval armor kidnaps her and she ends up in a magical world. There, she accidentally discovers a secret her parents had kept until the day they died. Both actually came from this magical world, but left before Callan was born. To cover their tracks, they’d lied about everything. Even who they really were. Driven to find out where she comes from, Callan’s trapped in a race for life and death. Walking away isn’t an option, but if she stays too long, the entity will find its next victim. In this world where secrets are sacrosanct and grudges are remembered, finding the truth will be near impossible. Especially when Callan has her own homicidal little secret to deal with. One with a taste for destroying her life.

Review: This was an excellent read that I just got lost in almost straight away. I just couldn't stop reading and finished this within the day that I started to read this book. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves to read a book that spans across many genres. People who love science fiction/fantasy/young adult books will love to read this book. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | E.S. Renfield | Diem Mortis


Author: E.S. Renfield
Title: Diem Mortis
Genre: Fiction

Synopsis: It's 1785. Catherine White leaves her past behind to start a new life at Birchwood Manor. Happy with this transition, she is surprised when she begins having nightmares about Mr. Wilson, the master of the house. In these nightmares, an unknown dead woman warns her of Mr. Wilson's dangerous character. Wary of these dreams, it has become her goal to discover Mr. Wilson's past.
It's 2011. Catherine White is a librarian at the Boston Public Library. She leads a normal life, except for the fact that she dreams of being a governess in 1785 at a place called Birchwood Manor. Becoming obsessed with her dreams, she is determined to find out about Birchwood Manor, even if it means that the people around her believe that she is slowly heading down the path of insanity.

Rating: This was an excellent read that grabbed my attention instantly. I could not stop reading this book and had it finished within the first day I started reading it. I found myself lost in this book and felt like I was in the story. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | J.M. Shorney | Night Of All Evil

Night of all Evil


Author: J.M. Shorney
Title: Night Of All Evil
Genre: Horror, Gothic

Synopsis: Freya Monroe used to be part of a circle that engaged in the occult, but has turned her back on it. However the circle are determined to bring her back into the fold, to use her powers for their means, including resurrecting their leader from the dead. The group will stop at nothing to achieve their aims and Freya must call on all her resources to resist the power of evil. But will it be enough? A tense tale of gothic horror - not for the faint-hearted.

Review: This was an excellent gothic horror story that I could just not stop reading. I got lost in this book and felt like I was in the story. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to get lost in books and loves a good horror story. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friday, 25 September 2015

Book Review | Joshua Blum | The Thirteenth Hour

The Thirteenth Hour



Author: Joshua Blum
Title: The Thirteenth Hour
Genre: Fiction

Synopsis: When a young boy falls asleep during school one day, he is transported into a fantasy world of wizards, dragons, quests, and the tale of “The Thirteenth Hour.” In it, a young man named Logan has come of age and must leave the sleepy village orphanage where he was raised to be a soldier in King Darian IV's Imperial Army. Although he finds himself immediately at odds with military life and possesses no special skills (aside from daydreaming) and little self-confidence, Logan’s tour is surprisingly extended when he is picked by the King’s wizards to be specially trained as an Imperial Ranger for a mysterious quest to find the secret to eternal life. As he slowly grinds through training, he begins to discover there is more to himself than he realizes. When he and his teammates embark on their quest, disaster soon strikes, and Logan experiences not only the panic of being shipwrecked, marooned, and bereft of all supplies but also the excitement and challenge of an epic adventure he had previously only thought possible in books, daydreams, and fairy tales. Along the way, he is reunited with his best friend from childhood, Aurora, who joins him on his quest (and provides the occasional female perspective, as the story is sometimes told from her point of view). Their journey spans many months, a variety of dangers, and four corners of the known world. But in the end, they find that no matter how exotic the locale, one is never far from those big questions we all ask ourselves at some point – the ones about chasing dreams, conquering fear, and living a life worth living.

Review: This is an excellent fantasy story that I could just not stop reading. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves to get lost in an excellent fiction story. I found it really easy to get lost in this book and could read it over and over again. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sunday, 20 September 2015

Book Review | Suilyaniz Cintron | Windswept

Windswept


Author: Suilyaniz Cintron
Title: WindSwept
Genre: Drama, Performing Arts, Plays

Synopsis: The year is 1912 and Lady Amelia Williams is one of the wealthiest women in Manchester England and mother to the lovely Abigail. When James Thomas, the son of a family who has recently moved to the countryside is invited to dine at the Williams manor he encounters the secret that Amelia has long kept hidden behind the walls of her home. A woman enslaved into servitude and beautiful beyond words but donned in rags and treated in the cruelest, most appalling way. Her name is Magdalena and one look into her eyes, so full of pain and sadness is enough to capture James's heart. A story of tragedy, sorrow, loss and love, how much can two souls endure when there are those bent on tearing them apart?

Review: This is an excellent read that caught my attention from the first page. I could not stop reading and finished this book on the same day that I started reading it. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to get lost in a book. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars