Saturday, 31 December 2016

Book Review | Lucia Mann | The Sicilian Veil Of Shame

The Sicilian Veil of Shame


Author: Lucia Mann
Title: The Sicilian Veil Of Shame
Genre: History, Slavery, Child Prostitution, Holocaust
Pages: 329
Price: £12.38
Series: African Freedom

Started: 20th November 2016
Finished: 31st December 2016

Synopsis: The ten year old daughter of a Sicilian mafia boss is cruelly kidnapped from her bedroom on the night of her glamorous birthday celebration. She knows her captor well, and, until this night, has trusted him and held him fondly in her heart. Maria's prospects for rescue plummet as she is sold into child prostitution and eventually sent to a holocaust death camp. Is it possible for a girl so misused for so long to emotionally endure the torment she suffered and still maintain a semblance of normalcy? The quest for an answer leads the reader on a zigzag journey through the bloodline of three generations, ending in the bowels of a mafia mansion on the island of Sicily. In this book, you will experience the profound love of a daughter for her mother, and a granddaughter's misgivings about her crazed grandmother, the matriarch of a battered family:
  • Brianna, a successful law student who gives up everything to search for her beloved mother.
  • Lynette, Brianna's mother, a survivor of child slavery in South Africa
  • Maria, a kidnapped child who endures years of torment to eventually become the most powerful mafia boss in Sicily. 
Lucia Mann's story explores the ugliness of child slavery while it tests our attitudes toward revenge and mental health. 


Review: This is the only book in the African Freedom series that I have bought. The rest were sent to me by Lucia Mann in exchange for honest reviews. When I started to read this book I was falling into a slight reading slump and found it impossible to stay focused on the book for more than a few pages at a time. Despite the reading slump I kept coming back and reading through 3 to 5 pages at a time until I finally beat the reading slump. Once I had beat the reading slump I became fully immersed in the book and found it almost impossible to put the book down and stop reading. This book was as interesting and insightful as the rest of the series. I would highly recommend this book and the rest of the series to anyone with an interest in African history, the history of slavery or just history in general. If investing in this series be sure to read them in the correct order so that the story line of all the books make more sense as a whole. I read these books in the order that I received them so the complete story line was confusing to me at times. Lucia Mann is an amazing author and her books deserve a space in all book collections around the world. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sunday, 20 November 2016

Book Review | J.K. Rowling | The Tales Of Beedle The Bard

The Tales of Beedle the Bard


Author: J.K. Rowling
Title: The Tales Of Beedle The Bard
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Fiction, Short Stories, Children, Magic, Fairy Tales, Middle Grade, Science Fiction, British Literature
Pages: 105
Price: £5.59

Started: 19th November 2016
Finished: 20th November 2016

Synopsis: The Tales Of Beedle The Bard contains five richly diverse fairy tales, each with its own magical character, that will variously bring delight, laughter and the thrill of mortal peril. Additional notes for each story penned by Albus Dumbledore will be enjoyed by muggles and wizards alike, as the professor muses on the morals illuminated by the tales, and reveals snippets of information about life at Hogwarts. A uniquely magical volume, with illustrations by the author, J.K. Rowling, that will be treasured for years to come.  

Review: I bought this book at a second hand store. This price was 99p and comes on a "buy one get one free" offer. Money spent at this store gets donated to the Barnardos Children Charity. I have plans to buy this book brand new along with fantastic beasts and where to find them and quidditch through the ages. When I have this book brand new then I will donate the used copy back to the store for someone else to pick up and enjoy. As a major fan of Harry Potter I was excited to add this book to my collection and read it. It is my aim to have the full Harry Potter collection on my shelves including the illustrated editions and the vault books. I did enjoy this collection of short stories but I prefer more action in the stories that I read. These books were aimed at a younger audience (or a young at heart audience), however I highly recommend these books to any fan of the Harry Potter series. 

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars.

** The only reason I did not give this book a 5 star rating is because of the lack of action. 

Saturday, 19 November 2016

Book Review | C.L. Coffey | Angel In Training

Angel in Training

This book was sent to me for free. This book was sent to me by the author. This book was sent to me in exchange for an honest review. 



Author: C.L. Coffey
Title: Angel In Training
Genre: Angels, Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 297
Price: £8.99
Series: Louisiangel

Started: 6th November 2016
Finished: 19th November 2016

Synopsis: After a night out turns fatal, a misunderstanding with the archangel Michael presents Angel with a chance at eternal life: the opportunity to earn her wings and one day become an archangel herself. Angel is given the task of protecting her charge, trainee detective, Joshua Walsh. There's no denying the attraction between Angel and Joshua, only Michael has strict rules:
  • No drinking
  • No drugs
  • And certainly no relationships with humans
Thankfully, she's got other things to deal with, like trying to convince Joshua that New Orleans has a serial killer who is preying on other angel potentials like herself. Angel must quickly learn that when keeping someone safe, doing the right thing is not always the easiest, especially when you've got an archangel looking over your shoulder.


Review: I would like to thank the author for sending me a signed copy of this book along with a signed bookmark. I will have to buy the rest of the series to have the complete set on my shelves. Originally I was unsure that I would like this book but wanted the rest of the books just so I had the full set. However, it turns out that I actually loved this book and cannot wait to own and read the rest of the series. When this book was offered to me I read the synopsis and decided that it might be an interesting read but I did not realise just how interesting it would be. This book is action packed and keeps the reader on the edge of their seats wondering who the killer is and if Angel will ever earn her wings. I found myself lost between the pages of this book for hours at a time. Angel In Training ends on quite a cliffhanger that made me wish I could jump straight into the second book in the series. I cannot wait to own the rest of the series and find out what happens with Angel and the other potentials along with the fight that the angels are preparing for. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys young adult and paranormal novels. This book will have a permanent place on my shelves and surely be joined by the rest of the series and other books by C.L. Coffey.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Tuesday, 15 November 2016

Cover Reveal | Kate Bonham | Mine, Forever

COVER REVEAL



Mine, Forever

(Deadly Women, Book One)
Author: Kate Bonham
Book One
Cover Designer: Desiree DeOrto
Edited by: Swish Editing & Design 
Genre: Dark Romance
Release: 16 December 2016

BLURB


JETT

She's mine.
Ever since I first laid eyes on her, I knew there was something about her but I had to be sure.
I had to know she was like me.
Now, after what I've put her through, I own her.
But they keep trying to pull her away from me.
They keep trying to destroy my world forcing me to unleash hell on earth to keep her in my arms.

EBONY

I’m broken, alone and hated by my own family. 
When Jett Black walks into my life, I know I'm not safe.
Not safe from him, not safe from anyone and yet I can't get enough of him.
He's my savior in every way, shape and form. 
Finally, after years I felt as if I was on the right path until forces try to tear us apart – forces which are trying to kill me. 

But I won’t give him up – he’s mine...forever. 








Add to Goodreads TBR: https://goo.gl/Z0UKKJ

Pre-Order for 99c!

(Kindle Only for now)




AUTHOR BIO


Kate grew up in Western Sydney, Australia, hoping to one day have a pet dragon and castle to roam around in. Then the Khaleesi stole her life and she was forced to reinvent herself. 

It was around the age of 15 when she really thought she could make it as a writer, and after course after course on different writing styles, she finally gulped down her fear and pursued independent publishing. 

When she's not writing, she's spending time with her boyfriend and their zoo of pets that include snakes, spiders, lizards, gecko, an axolotl and a bird. 

Contact Kate






Sunday, 6 November 2016

Book Review | Emily Ruben | I Was A Bitch

I Was A Bitch

This book was sent to me for free. I was sent this book by the publisher. I was sent this book in exchange for an honest review.



Author: Emily Ruben
Title: I Was A Bitch
Genre: Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 503
Price: £10.31

Started:
24th October 2016
Finished: 6th November 2016

Synopsis:
What if you forgot the last two years of your life? Lacey Jones wakes up from a two month coma only to realise she has lost all memory of the last two years. In that time she became the Queen Bee of her high school; pretty, popular, girlfriend of the hottest jock, wanted by every guy, feared by every girl ... she became the bitch, but has no memory of it. Together with the mysterious and attractive Finn, she starts to put together the pieces of the puzzle that has become her life. Will she go back to being a bitch or will she turn her life around? 

Review:
Before starting the actual review I would like to thank the publisher for contacting me about reviewing this book. When I first read the synopsis of this book I was unsure that I would like it as I am not really a fan of romance novels. After only a few pages I was oddly hooked on the storyline. I am actually glad that I enjoyed this book and am able to give the author a positive review. This was an interesting and enjoyable read. I agreed to review this book as I wanted to branch out and experience new genres. This is the first romance novel that I have read and took a chance with. This book has definitely made me more open to the romance genre. What I liked about this book is that it is not set in a fake and perfect world; There is a realistic element to this world and all the events that take place. This book managed to grip my attention and pull me into the book. I found it hard to put this book down and stop reading. From the start I found my self rooting for the relationship of Lacey and Finn. This book has made me more open to reading more romance novels. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys romance novels. But on the flip side I would suggest that those who do not normally read romance books give this book a chance as I am sure that it will bring a whole new experience to the readers. I am happy to have this book as a part of my ever-growing collection and it will remain on my shelves permanently. 


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wednesday, 19 October 2016

Book Review | Sally Hanan | Joy In A Box And Other Stories

Joy in a Box: and other stories

I won this book in a giveaway. The giveaway was listed on goodreads. The giveaway was listed by the publisher. 




Author: Sally Hanan
Title: Joy In A Box And Other Stories
Genre: Short Stories, Women Writers, Fiction
Pages: 136
Price: £5.57

Started:
18th October 2016
Finished: 19th October 2016

Synopsis:
A blind girl has a gift; A father's heart breaks; A young boy in Africa might die; The step-children want her dead husband's money ... Read these short snippets of fiction and be prepared to gasp, giggle and groan. Sally Hanan's insight into the human heart brings depth and richness to her stories, many of them written in a poetic style of prose that flows and gurgles like a country creek. 

Review:
Firstly, I would like to say that I am grateful that I won this book in a goodreads giveaway. If I had not seen this book up for giveaway on goodreads then I would not have known that this book existed and if I had not won then I most likely would not have bought this book. I do not normally read short stories but this book kept calling out to me from my shelves. This book is a collection of short stories which I went into thinking that I would not enjoy them but it turns out that I was pleasantly surprised when I found that I enjoyed them. I found it difficult to put this book down and stop reading it. I finished this book within a day which is an achievement for me as I find it hard to focus on one thing for an extended period of time. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys fiction and short stories. As I won this book I will be keeping it as a part of my book collection forever. 


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Tuesday, 18 October 2016

Book Review | Ransom Riggs | Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children



Author: Ransom Riggs
Title: Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children
Genre: Fantasy, Supernatural, Adventure, Young Adult, Teen, Historical, Science Fiction, Magic, Urban Fantasy
Series: Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children
Pages: 382
Price: £6.29

Started:
10th October 2016
Finished: 17th October 2016

Synopsis:
A mysterious Island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs. It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine's home for peculiar children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen year old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine's home for peculiar children. As Jacob explores its bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that Miss Peregrine's children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow - impossible though it seems - they may still be alive. 

Review:
I bought this book at a second hand stall. I plan to buy this book boxset brand new in the near future and then donate this used book back to the stall so that someone else can experience the works of Ransom Riggs. This is a truly interesting read and the photographs definitely add to the intrigue and mystery of the story. I found myself completely lost between the pages for hours at a time. There is something about the way that this book is written that makes it feel as though you are actually watching the lives of the characters play out; It makes you feel as if you are following the characters and experiencing what they think and feel. When lost in this book it did not feel that I was reading at all but that I had been transported to the place and time that the book was set. After reading this book I am very excited to own the full trilogy and the companion book, tales of the peculiar. When I own all the books I can read them back to back and remain in their world to live out the rest of the story alongside the peculiar children and to see if Jacob ever returns to his family. I would highly recommend this book (and most likely the rest of the trilogy) to anyone with an interest in urban fantasy and supernatural novels. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Monday, 17 October 2016

Book Review | Hassan El-Tayyab | Composing Temple Sunrise

Composing Temple Sunrise: Overcoming Writer's block at Burning Man

I received this book for free from publishers. This book was brought to my attention through a contact form on my blog. This book was sent to me in exchange for an honest review. 



Author: Hassan El-Tayyab
Title: Composing Temple Sunrise
Genre: Memoir, Biography, Autobiography, Music, Art, Festival, Relationships
Pages: 202
Price: £6.84

Started:
27th August 2016
Finished: 2nd September 2016

Synopsis: 
This is a memoir by musician Hassan El-Tayyab and recounts his trip across the US looking for that elusive muse. He arrives in Berkeley and hooks up with a group creating a metal sculpture called Fishbug. They go to Burning Man in the Nevada dessert and here he writes the musical piece Temple Sunrise. Hassan is a musician singer/songwriter with his group America Nomad. This is a book of travel, personal exploration, community, and that elusive finding of the creative source. A beautiful song comes of this journey as well as a beautiful, insightful book. Hassan El-Tayyab is an award-winning singer/songwriter, author, teacher, and cultural activist currently residing in San Francisco, California. His critically-acclaimed Americana act American Nomad performs regularly at festivals and venues up and down the West Coast and beyond. In addition to performing Hassan is also a music educator, having taught songwriting and guitar classes for the Freight and Salvage and The East Bay Center for the Performing Arts. Hassan has also been a guest lecturer on song writing at the University of California, Berkeley.

Review:
 I would like to thank the publisher for sending me a copy of this book. When I received this book I was unsure whether I would like this book or not as I mostly read fiction and fantasy books. When buying or reading books I normally do not opt for memoirs so this book didn't jump out as something I would be gripped by. However, when I started reading this book I found that the adventures of the writer pulled me in and then I just could not break away from the pages. The author excellently portrayed his emotions in relation to the events that he wrote about in this book. When reading about the events he experienced and took part in I could almost feel exactly what he was feeling at these times or maybe what he was feeling when looking back on these memories. This was an excellent read and I am glad that I accepted this book for review. I would highly recommend this book to anyone, whether they are a reader of fiction or enjoy auto-biographies/memoirs. 

Rating:
5 out of 5 stars

Monday, 10 October 2016

Book Review | Robert Galbraith | The Cuckoo's Calling

The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike)



Author: Robert Galbraith
Title: The Cuckoo's Calling
Genre: Mystery, Fiction, Crime, Thriller, Adult, Mystery Thriller, Contemporary, Detective, Adult Fiction, European Literature, British Literature
Series: Cormoran Strike
Pages: 449
Price: £6.29

Started: 
25th September 2016
Finished: 10th October 2016

Synopsis: 
When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get and the closer he gets to terrible danger ...

Review: 
After buying this book I was truly excited to get around to reading this book. This book did not disappoint; I truly enjoyed this book and will definitely be investing in the rest of the series as well as other books released under the pen name Robert Galbraith. This book was enthralling from start to finish and I found it impossible to stop reading and put this book down. I found myself lost in the pages for hours at a time. I would highly recommend this book to anyone with an interest in crime fiction and mystery novels. I am certain that this book will grip anybody's attention as it did mine. This book will have a permanent place on my bookshelves. This book has made me want to invest in more crime detective novels by other authors. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wednesday, 5 October 2016

Book Review | Simon Laffy | Seed Of Satan

Seed of Satan

This book was sent to me for free. I was sent this book from the publishers. I was sent this book in exchange for an honest review. 



Author: Simon Laffy
Title: Seed Of Satan
Genre: Historical Fiction, History, Fiction, War
Release Date: 1st October 2016
Pages: 286
Price: £4.99 (Kindle Edition)

Started:
11th September 2016
Finished: 19th September 2016

Synopsis:
Some things should not be messed around with. Somewhere, fools are playing with fire. Sometimes, a slight mistake can tip the balance. Someone is about to kill us all. Deep in the heart of the Kaiser's reich, scientists work desperately to produce a form of germ warfare that could provide the elusive breakthrough on the western front, thereby bringing ultimate victory to the central powers. One young englishman is willing to risk his all to try and prevent them from succeeding.

Review:
I would like to thank the publisher for sending me and my sister a copy of this book to review (my sister's review will be up at a later date). This was an excellent read and it was worth every second I spent with my head buried in this book. This is a book that I could read many times over and still enjoy it as much as the first time. At the start of the book the plot went by a little slowly so I was worried about getting into it fully but the more I read the better the plot became. Overall, I am glad that I stuck with the book or else I would have regretted not finishing such an amazing book. If I had given up at the start I would not have known how good this book was and my review would have been incomplete as well as incorrect. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical fiction and war related books. After reading this story I would definitely read more books by Simon Laffy. In my opinion this a worthy investment and my collection is better off for having this book as a part of it. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sunday, 25 September 2016

Book Review | Lars Teeney | The Shackled Scribes

The Shackled Scribes

This book was sent to me for free. This book was sent to me by the author, Lars Teeney. I was sent this book in exchange for an honest review. 



Author: Lars Teeney
Title: The Shackled Scribes
Genre: Science Fiction, Fiction, Fantasy, Sci-Fi
Pages: 192
Price: £6.89

Started:
22nd September 2016
Finished: 25th September 2016

Synopsis:
Futharkia is a city built upon they layout of an ancient rune shape, and a foundation of slavery. The Broxanians have been enslaved by the Olgoikhorian masters to exploit the Broxanian talent for rune-scribing. In exchange, the rune-scribers are compensated with the sweet, golden liquid, Ichor, that the giant worm-like Olgoikhorkians secrete from their glands. The Ichor also happens to be highly addictive and psychoactive. The system has worked for millennia. However, the great fern jungle that surrounds Futharkia is dying, being bleached white by some unseen force. Coupled with the fact that the simian-like fern lice have been hunted to extinction to provide for Futharkia's ever-increasing demand for food, Futharkia's ecosystem is near collapse. It is amid this setting that Cyesko Limariar, an aging rune-scribe, makes one last attempt at greatness to life himself out of poverty, even if by fraudulent means. 

Review:
I would like to thank the author, Lars Teeney, for generously sending me a copy of this book. This was a truly interesting read that managed to grip my attention right off the bat. I finished this book really quickly as I found that it was impossible to stop reading. When I read the synopsis I became excited to receive this book as it sounding thrilling; this book did not disappoint me at all and neither did it dull the excitement I felt for this book. I would recommend this book to any reader who enjoys Science Fiction novels. This book will be staying on my shelves forever and a day. After reading this book, I am certain that I will be buying more books by Lars Teeney. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friday, 23 September 2016

Book Review | Carole P. Roman | If You Were Me And Lived In ... Viking Europe

If You Were Me and Lived in...Viking Europe

This book was sent to me for free. I was sent this book by Carole P. Roman and Bostick Communications. This book was sent to me in exchange for an honest review. 



Author: Carole P. Roman
Title: If You Were Me And Lived In ... Viking Europe
Genre: Picture Books, Non-Fiction, Culture, Educational, Children's 
Series: If You Were Me And Lived In ... 
Pages: 78
Price: £12.96

Started:
21st September 2016
Finished: 21st September 2016

Synopsis:
Hop in our time travel machine and Join Carole P. Roman as she visits a viking settlement in the year 890 AD. Learn what your name could be and the kind of food you might eat. Read about the different levels of society, how they affect where you would live and the type of clothing you might wear. Mateya Arkova's beautiful illustrations illustrate what vikings ate and their children did for fun. If You Were Me And Lived In ... Viking Europe is an exciting trip that shows a colourful culture through the eyes of a child. 

Review:
 I would like to thank Carole P. Roman for sending me a copy of this book along with another of her educational books, If You Were Me And Lived In ... Poland (the review can be found on my blog). After I read this book I gave it to my neighbour for her young son. This book is really interesting and educational for young children. In my opinion all young children should have access to Carole P. Roman's educational books within their own home. This book contains lots of information about Europe in the time of vikings. These books are an easy and interesting way for children to learn about other places around the world and other periods in time. These books are a good starting point for children who are just getting into reading. I would recommend these books to anyone who has or works with young children. 

Rating:
5 out of 5 stars

Thursday, 22 September 2016

Book Review | Jean-Claude Van Itallie | Tea With Demons

Tea with Demons • Games of Transformation

This book was sent to me for free. This book was sent to me by the publisher. I was sent this book in exchange for an honest review. 



Author: Jean-Claude Van Itallie
Title: Tea With Demons
Genre: Medical, Psychology, Applied Psychology, Health, Fitness And Dieting, Arts And Photography, Performing Arts, Theater
Pages: 181
Price: £24.95

Started:
19th September 2016
Finished: 22nd September 2016

Synopsis:
Games of transformation are playful daily practices that flow like a constant brook over the stubborn stones of our old self-destructive patterns, thus slowly wearing them down and washing them away to reveal the stream bed of our basic good nature. Enjoy the games in this book like rich chocolate cake - in small portions. Each day, don't bite off more than you can chew but chew thoroughly what you bite off. If you play the games regularly, they will become the way you live your life. 

Review:
I would like to thank the publisher for sending me a copy of this book and the author, Jean-Claude Van Itallie, for writing such an amazing book. After starting the book I was not sure that I would be able to read through the whole book. However, I did persevere and found that the further through the book I got, the more interesting the book became. I found myself to be completely immersed in this book. No matter what came up I found that I just didn't want to stop reading. I am not sure what it is about this book that makes it so gripping but I was 100% hooked to this book. No matter how hard I try I cannot put into words the way that this book made me feel or what I thought when reading this book. All I know is that this book caused a change within me but again I cannot explain what that change is; I just feel different after finishing this book. I would highly recommend this book as it is an interesting and brilliant read that will make you evaluate the way that you think about yourself and how you are living your life. This book will be a valuable investment for any and all book collections. There is just something about this book that makes you feel different inside.  

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wednesday, 21 September 2016

Book Review | Carole P. Roman | If You Were Me And Lived In ... Poland

If You Were Me and Lived in...Poland

This book was sent to me for free. This book was sent to me by the author, Carole P. Roman, and Bostick Communications. This book was sent to me in exchange for an honest review.



Author: Carole P. Roman
Title: If You Were Me And Lived in ... Poland
Genre: Picture Books, Childrens, Non-Fiction, Education, Culture
Series: If You Were Me And Lived In ... 
Pages: 38
Price: £8.46

Started:
21st September 2016
Finished: 21st September 2016

Synopsis:
Join Carole P. Roman when she visits Poland in the newest book of her informative series. Learn about the varied customs and cultures. Travel to Eastern Europe to discover what you would eat and do for fun. See the land through the eyes of a youngster like you and understand what life is like in this exciting place. Don't forget to look at the other books in the series so that you can be an armchair world traveler. 

Review:
I would like to thank Carole P. Roman and Bostick Communications for sending me a copy of this book along with another of her books, If You Were Me And Lived In ... Viking Europe. After reading these two books I gave them to my neighbour for her young son. This book is really interesting and educational for young children. In my opinion all young children should have access to Carole's educational books in their own home. This book contains a lot of information about life in Poland. This book along with the rest of the series are an easy and interesting way for children to learn about other places around the world and other eras in history. These books are a good starting point for children who are just getting into reading. I would highly recommend these books to anyone who has or works with young children.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars