Monday, 17 April 2017

Book Review | Kevin Scott Olson | Breakout

Breakout: A Michael Quinn Short Story

This book was sent to me for free by the author. This book was sent to me in exchange for an honest review. The author contacted me about reviewing this book after I signed up to his newsletter.  Any opinion I share about this book is completely my own and is not influenced by the author or publisher.


Author: Kevin Scott Olson
Title: Breakout
Genre: Thriller, Military, Fiction
Series: Michael Quinn

Pages: 38
Price: £3.84

Started: 15th April 2017
Finished: 15th April 2017

Synopsis: An American soldier, traveling alone in rural Mexico, is arrested and, without a hearing or trial, thrown into one of the Country's most notorious maximum security prisons. If the American's true identity and mission are revealed, he will never leave Mexico alive. Michael Quinn, ex-navy seal turned CIA special operative, is given the assignment: rescue the imprisoned American before the soldier receives a life sentence from the Mexican Government ... or a death sentence from the Mexican drug cartels. 

Review: I would like to thank the author for sending me a copy of this book. After reading the synopsis I was very excited to read this book. At the start of the book, I was unsure if I would actually enjoy the storyline. The more that I read the more hooked I was on the plot and ended up loving the book. This book was also a plus for me as it was a short, quick read that I finished in no time. Sometimes I lean towards short stories as I can have them finished in less than an hour. Short stories are something I like when I am in a reading slump as they don't take too much time up and they can also help to break through the reading slump. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys short stories, fiction and/or mystery thrillers. I would also recommend the rest of the series. This is a short and gripping novel worthy of a place in all book collections. After reading this book I cannot wait to invest in more books by Kevin Scott Olson.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The only reason I gave this book a 4-star rating is that the first few pages were slow and made it difficult to get into the storyline.
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Sunday, 16 April 2017

Book Review | Priscilla McGreer | Darkness Visible

Darkness Visible

This is a book that I won in a giveaway. The giveaway was listed on Goodreads. The author of this book, Priscilla McGreer, did not ask for a review of this book. Any opinions I share about this book are completely my own and are not influenced by the author or publisher.



Author: Priscilla McGreer
Title: Darkness Visible
Genre: Poetry, Feminism

Pages: 50
Price: £6.95 (May Change)

Started: 10th April 2017
Finished: 15th April 2017

Synopsis: Lilith is a figure of enigma and myth. Historically, her first appearance in literature seems to be medieval Jewish folklore, where she is considered the first wife of Adam, although there are hints she was once a Sumerian goddess. Lilith represents one of the most ancient archetypes: the dark feminine who awakens to correct serious errors among humanity. Darkness Visible is a collection of poems, written through the voice of Lilith, but also a critique of patriarchal society. In the first part, she addresses prominent historical, mythological and literary male cultural heroes from the last few thousand years. 
In the second part, female figures address Lilith and share their wisdom, guidance, and strength. Sometimes, it is necessary to destroy in order to build up, like mother earth through volcanic eruption. Now is the time. The ancient spirit of Lilith has been reawakened, summoned into the light of modern society. Although her words refer to old, even ancient, figures, it does so in order to address contemporary issues before its too late.

Review: Firstly, I would like to make it clear that I am very grateful for having won a copy of this book. In all honesty, I had little interest in poetry but I thought it would be good to try some poetry before I made up my mind about whether poetry was something I would enjoy or not. This collection of poems has an interesting theme and I did like reading this book. I will admit that this book was not for me. It made me certain that poetry is not for me. This may not have been for me but I know that if someone enjoys poetry then they will love this collection of poems. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in poetry and feminism. Even though it was not my favourite read this book will always be a part of my book collection as I am just so grateful that I won this book.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

Thursday, 13 April 2017

Book Review | Lyn Coffin | A Taste Of Cascadia

A Taste of Cascadia

This is a book that I won in a giveaway. The giveaway was listed on Goodreads. As I won this book a review was not required. Any opinions shared on this book are 100% my own and are not influenced by the author or publisher. 



Author: Lyn Coffin
Title: A Taste Of Cascadia
Genre: Fiction, Play, Short Story, Comedy

Pages: 54
Price: 99p on kindle

Started: 11th April 2017
Finished: 11th April 2017

Synopsis: A taste of Cascadia features two short comedic plays, with the Pacific North West as a backdrop. 
In Lutefisk, a middle aged computer dating couple discover their previous connection from an unlikely event. 
Fries in a wine glass brings us two sisters exchanging differing accounts of their growing up years in a diner, following the funeral of their sister. Secrets and jealousies are revealed as they reconnect after a long absence, and hope for reconciliation. 
Following the launch of this book,  these plays were performed around the Seattle area in various senior centers with an abundance of laughter and appreciation.

Review: I would like to thank the author for listing this giveaway. If it had not been for the giveaway I would not have known this book even existed. I am grateful for having won this book. Even though I entered the giveaway, when I read the synopsis I was unsure whether I would like this book or not as I am not really a fan of plays or comedy. I much prefer crime, horror and fantasy novels. However, I found these short comedic plays to be relatively entertaining. This book is not something I would pick over something in my preferred genres but it was definitely an interesting read. I would recommend this book to people who enjoy plays or comedy; definitely a mix of the two. Even though this book did not blow me away it will remain on my bookshelves and maybe one day it will draw me back in for another read. Lyn Coffin is an excellent author and if she wrote stories of a darker nature then I would definitely invest in them. 

Rating: 3/5

The reason I gave this a 3 star rating is simply because I do not enjoy this genre of writing as much as others. My rating has nothing to do with the writing style or how enjoyable this book is. The writer has a good and gripping writing style and if this book had been a crime or horror novel then I would have been hooked.  

Wednesday, 12 April 2017

Book Review | Michael Flexer | Edmund's Struggle

Edmund's Struggle



Author: Michael Flexer
Title: Edmund's Struggle: Under The Spell Of The White Witch
Genre: Fantasy, Fiction, Adventure, Children, Magic, Young Adult

Pages: 63
Price: £2.80

Started: 10th April 2017
Finished: 10th April 2017

Synopsis: Edmund isn't happy when he and his brother and sisters are sent to the professor's house in the countryside. But when he follows Lucy into an old wardrobe and to the land of Narnia, things get much worse. There he meets the evil white witch, who convinces him to betray his family. Before Edmund knows it, he's in over head! How can he escape for the white witch's clutches and find the strength to help save Narnia and his family from a terrible fate?

Review: This is a short story extension to the C.S. Lewis novel, The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe, and it gives insight into Edmund and his actions in The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe. Although this book is not full of action and excitement it is a good addition to The Chronicles Of Narnia. Having the insight into Edmund helps to understand his character and the choices that he makes. This short story shows that Edmund has made bad choices but is completely misunderstood. I can't say that this book gripped my attention but it is a great addition to the Narnia book series and for that reason alone it will have a permanent place on my bookshelves. This book is part of a four set short story. Each book revolves around a different child. The other three books follow Lucy, Susan and Peter. These books may not be read more than once if at all but they are worth having on the shelf for fans of The Chronicles Of Narnia. Each book adds detail and insight into the feelings and thoughts of the main characters as they embark on the amazing adventure to free Narnia from the control of the white witch. 

Rating: 3/5 stars

I would have given this book a one or two star rating if it did not add to The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe.














Tuesday, 11 April 2017

Book Review | Pauline Baynes | Lucy's Adventure: The Search For Aslan

Lucy's Adventure: The Quest for Aslan, the Great Lion (The Chronicles of Narnia)



Author: Pauline Baynes
Title: Lucy's Adventure: The Search For Aslan
Genre: Fantasy, Fiction, Adventure, Children, Magic, Young Adult

Pages: 96
Price: £1.99

Started: 10th April 2017
Finished: 10th April 2017

Synopsis: At first Lucy Pevensie is sad when she is sent with her sister and brothers to the countryside to escape the dangers of wartime London. But when they arrive, something wonderful happens: a game of hide and seek turns into the adventure of a lifetime! In the magical land of Narnia, Lucy and her brothers and sister meet Aslan, the great lion, who calls them to fulfil their destiny - free Narnia from the evil white witch!

Review: This is a short story extension to The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe. It gives a slight insight to into Lucy and her thoughts as she embarks on this amazing adventure to free Narnia from the white witch and save her faun friend. I have to be honest and say that I did not find this book particularly interesting and I did struggle to keep my attention on this book. However, it is worth the time to read as it is always interesting to get an idea of the thoughts and feelings of characters as they embark on a journey that is filled with fear and excitement. This book is a part of four short story extension books. The other three are based around Peter, Susan and Edmund. Each book follows a different child. These four books may not be ones that are read more than once if at all but they are still worth a place on shelves for fans of The Chronicles Of Narnia. Each short story adds something new and interesting to The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe so I recommend giving them a read. Even if they aren't the best of stories, they are only really short books that can be finished in the blink of an eye. 

Rating: 3/5 stars

I would have given this book a one star rating if it did not add to the story of The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe. 

Monday, 10 April 2017

Book Review | J.D. Barker | The Fourth Monkey

The Fourth Monkey

This book was sent to me for free. This book was sent to me by the publisher. I was sent this book in exchange for an honest review. 


Author: J.D. Barker
Title: The Fourth Monkey
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Dark, Fiction

Pages: 475
Price: £12.99
Release Date: July 2017

Started: 10th March 2017
Finished: 9th April 2017

Synopsis: See no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil ... do no evil. For over five years, the fourth monkey killer has terrorised the residents of Chicago. When his body is found, the police quickly realise he was on his way to deliver one final message, one which proves he has taken another victim who may still be alive. 
As the lead investigator Detective Sam Porter knows even in death, the killer is far from finished. When he discovers a personal diary in the jacket pocket of the body, Porter finds himself caught up in the mind of a psychopath, unravelling a twisted history in hopes of finding one last girl, all while struggling with personal demons of his own.
With only a handful of clues, the elusive killer's identity remains a mystery. Time is running out and the fourth monkey killer taunts from beyond the grave in this masterfully written fast-paced thriller. 

Review: Before I get into the review I would like to thank the publisher for sending me a copy of this book. It excites me that this book is described as "Se7en meets silence of the lambs" as those are two movies that I really enjoy. When it comes to thriller books and movies I have a pretty dark taste. This was a truly amazing book and with each turn of the page I became more and more lost in this book. This book is extremely exciting and action filled to the point that you will be on the edge of your seat wondering what is going to happen next. The addition of the diary entries makes for good insight into the killer's life, childhood and why he is like he is. This is the kind of book that grips the attention of the reader and holds it hostage until the end of the book. In my opinion this is the kind of book that would be perfect in the book collection of anyone who enjoys crime fiction and thriller novels. I firmly believe that this book would make an amazing movie adaptation so long as they didn't remove too many of the details from the book. I would highly recommend this book to any avid reader who enjoys mystery thrillers but I also suggest that other readers venture into the book as I am sure that as long as you don't mind gory details that you will fall deeply in love with this book. It is the kind of book that once you start reading you can't stop reading and put the book down. The ending of this book is a major cliff hanger so I am ready to have the next book and find out more about the story line. I enjoyed this book so much that I pre-ordered the next book for me and my sister as soon as it became available on Amazon. 

I gave this book a five star rating as it was just an epic read and left me hooked. I can't wait to get my hands on the second book as I am sure that it will be as amazing as the first. 

Saturday, 11 March 2017

Book Review | John Murray | Code Name: Papa

Code Name: Papa: My Extraordinary Life while Hiding in Plain Sight

*WARNING*
Pick up this book and you will be stuck between the pages right to the end.

This book was sent to me for free. I received this book from the publisher. I accepted this book in exchange for an honest review.





Author: John Murray

Title: Code Name: Papa
Genre: Memoir, Biography, Non-Fiction, Thriller, Autobiography

Pages: 326

Price: £13.75

Started: 15th February 2017

Finished: 10th March 2017

Synopsis: Who'd have thought a bright, but fairly ordinary young man from middle class America who got just above average grades, dated the same girl throughout high school and went to church most Sundays, would grow up to eventually head a very secretive band of brave individuals - both men and women - who regularly put their lives on the line because they wanted to protect the rest of you. Yet that's what we did, often sacrificing our personal lives (four marriages for me, all in the book) and our health (countless broken bones, major surgeries, even death) to do it.

Meanwhile, you're just going to have to call me 'papa' like everyone else around the globe has through most of those wildly unpredictable and dangerous years. 

Review: Firstly, I would like to thank the author for writing such an amazing book based around his life. Secondly, I would like to thank the publisher for providing me with a free copy in exchange for an honest review. When I accepted this book for review I was not sure if I would enjoy it as I had not read a memoir before. I was always much more into fiction than I was in things that had been in other people's stories about their life. Once I started to read this book I found that I was pleasantly surprised to find that I was enjoying this book and that feeling of interest lasted right up until the last page of the book. This memoir is full of adventure, danger and action that kept me hooked. This is a non-fiction thriller that kept me gripped from start to finish. I found it near impossible to stop reading and put the book down. This book has broadened my reading interests and made me more open to memoirs but also it made me think about giving other genres that I tend to avoid a chance as I might just enjoy them after all. Trying new genres is a good way to broaden your reading horizons and if you don't enjoy the new genre then at least you gave something new a try. I definitely want to invest more time into reading memoirs. I would highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys memoirs and non-fiction thrillers. I also suggest just giving this book or any out of your book comfort zone just to try something new and you just might experience something new that you enjoy. 


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars