Wednesday, 30 September 2015

Book Review | Georgia Payne | Synergy

Synergy


Author: Georgia Payne
Title: Synergy
Genre: Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Romance

Synopsis: When Dee Thompson meets international star Jason Taylor in her hometown of Detroit, neither of them expected to see each other after their one night encounter. Dee's world is a far cry from Jason's luxury lifestyle, and she's not willing to let him break down the walls she's spent years building up, but Jason has always loved a challenge.

Review: This book was easy to settle into and I could just not stop reading it until I had finished the book. I do not normally like romance stories but I really enjoyed this story. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good romance and contemporary fiction story. However, I do wish that there was a printed version of this book.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | Bill Jacks | The Cobblepotts: Confederate Chipmunks & Carny Cooter

Confederate Chipmunks & Carny Cooter (The Cobblepotts Book 1)


Author: Bill Jacks
Title: The Cobblepotts: Confederate Chipmunks & Carny Cooter
Genre: Short Stories, Literature, Fiction, Humour, Dark Comedy, Satire

Synopsis: Do you crave unoffending fiction? 
A wholesome snack that's low in friction? 
If so, inside you'll find the words 
A greasy feast of tasteless turds 
But those for crass and bawdy wit 
Will savor every bite of shit! 
Welcome to Possum Holler, Mississippi, where critters are served on a stick… and might be related to whatever’s been getting in your trash bin. Home of the chaw chewin, stank walkin, pill swillin, leg missin, finger in a belly, punch you in the damn mouth cuz I done TOLD you bout BREATHIN when i’m WATCHIN THE WRASLIN…Cobblepotts: the most delightful redneck couple you’d never invite over for supper. 
Meet Patty Cobblepott: a certified Yak of a woman. Fueled on potted meat and Mountain Dew, she’ll roll her breasts up and push a Plymouth clear to the freeway, with the E-brake on, and then make balloon animals out of rebar. Her softness of brain is equally mighty; Patty meets all legal requirements for retardation. 
Meet Otis Cobblepott: a well-bearded, Southern sociopath, more than willing to step on man, woman, or child—preferably woman or child—to pursue a sudden flight of fancy. He’s slightly smarter than Patty, but slightly dumber than a Guinea Pig. He enjoys critter documentaries, lawn mower racing, sturdy women, and getting one over on Patty. 
Tag along as the Cobblepotts redefine absurdity and turn simple misunderstandings into barn burning blowouts. Can the world survive such an outrageous pair? Can they even survive each other? Peel back the many, ridiculous layers of this hillbilly onion; you may be disturbed to find that--at the core--the Cobblepotts are a lot like you. 
Southern rooted, pants poopingly hilarious, more clever than your mom, riddled with the best limericks of your life, obscene at times, violent at others, dark and cynical throughout; it’s really kind of a romantic comedy, if that’s possible. It either curb stomps the entire idea of relationships, or offers observations as a bit of hope; you'll have to decide which. One thing's for sure; it's not for the faint of heart. So put grandma to bed, crate your children, and open wide for a whole mess of unfiltered ignorance. 

Review: This is an absolutely fantastic read that I found it really easy to get into. I found that I could not stop reading this book once I had started it. I found this book to be funny and it was a fantastic short story. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good comedy story and likes to lose themselves into a good fiction book. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | R.J. Newbould | Spyrits


Author: RJ Newbould
Title: Spyrits
Genre: Fantasy, Fiction

Synopsis: When David meets Dr. Niklas Gruber for the first time, his inner-self knows that somehow they know each other.
Little could he suspect that Dr. Gruber was his Father in a former life over six thousand years ago.
Even when confronted with proof of sorts, he was totally incredulous.
Then one evening, the proof became undeniable.
Over time Dr. Gruber and his associates give powers to David, and his soul-mate Tanya, that are unmatched.
NSA and other organizations could only dream of having David and Tanya's investigative skills.
Some organizations will readily kill in an effort to learn the secret of their rumored hidden talents.
David and Tanya are at high risk of being the next ones sacrificed.

Review: This was a good read but I found it hard to get into at first. Once I was into the book I found it hard to stop reading and had it finished really quickly. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a fantasy story and wouldn't mind taking the time to get into a story. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Monday, 28 September 2015

Book Review | M. Gerrick | The Vanished Knight

The Vanished Knight: Volume 1 (The War of Six Crowns)


Author: M. Gerrick
Title: The Vanished Knight
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Fiction, Science Fiction

Synopsis: The entity living inside Callan’s soul orphaned her at age eleven. By the time she’s sixteen, it’s ensured her being shunted from one foster family to another. Her thirteenth foster assignment should be routine. Except...it's not. A psycho in medieval armor kidnaps her and she ends up in a magical world. There, she accidentally discovers a secret her parents had kept until the day they died. Both actually came from this magical world, but left before Callan was born. To cover their tracks, they’d lied about everything. Even who they really were. Driven to find out where she comes from, Callan’s trapped in a race for life and death. Walking away isn’t an option, but if she stays too long, the entity will find its next victim. In this world where secrets are sacrosanct and grudges are remembered, finding the truth will be near impossible. Especially when Callan has her own homicidal little secret to deal with. One with a taste for destroying her life.

Review: This was an excellent read that I just got lost in almost straight away. I just couldn't stop reading and finished this within the day that I started to read this book. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves to read a book that spans across many genres. People who love science fiction/fantasy/young adult books will love to read this book. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | E.S. Renfield | Diem Mortis


Author: E.S. Renfield
Title: Diem Mortis
Genre: Fiction

Synopsis: It's 1785. Catherine White leaves her past behind to start a new life at Birchwood Manor. Happy with this transition, she is surprised when she begins having nightmares about Mr. Wilson, the master of the house. In these nightmares, an unknown dead woman warns her of Mr. Wilson's dangerous character. Wary of these dreams, it has become her goal to discover Mr. Wilson's past.
It's 2011. Catherine White is a librarian at the Boston Public Library. She leads a normal life, except for the fact that she dreams of being a governess in 1785 at a place called Birchwood Manor. Becoming obsessed with her dreams, she is determined to find out about Birchwood Manor, even if it means that the people around her believe that she is slowly heading down the path of insanity.

Rating: This was an excellent read that grabbed my attention instantly. I could not stop reading this book and had it finished within the first day I started reading it. I found myself lost in this book and felt like I was in the story. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | J.M. Shorney | Night Of All Evil

Night of all Evil


Author: J.M. Shorney
Title: Night Of All Evil
Genre: Horror, Gothic

Synopsis: Freya Monroe used to be part of a circle that engaged in the occult, but has turned her back on it. However the circle are determined to bring her back into the fold, to use her powers for their means, including resurrecting their leader from the dead. The group will stop at nothing to achieve their aims and Freya must call on all her resources to resist the power of evil. But will it be enough? A tense tale of gothic horror - not for the faint-hearted.

Review: This was an excellent gothic horror story that I could just not stop reading. I got lost in this book and felt like I was in the story. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to get lost in books and loves a good horror story. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friday, 25 September 2015

Book Review | Joshua Blum | The Thirteenth Hour

The Thirteenth Hour



Author: Joshua Blum
Title: The Thirteenth Hour
Genre: Fiction

Synopsis: When a young boy falls asleep during school one day, he is transported into a fantasy world of wizards, dragons, quests, and the tale of “The Thirteenth Hour.” In it, a young man named Logan has come of age and must leave the sleepy village orphanage where he was raised to be a soldier in King Darian IV's Imperial Army. Although he finds himself immediately at odds with military life and possesses no special skills (aside from daydreaming) and little self-confidence, Logan’s tour is surprisingly extended when he is picked by the King’s wizards to be specially trained as an Imperial Ranger for a mysterious quest to find the secret to eternal life. As he slowly grinds through training, he begins to discover there is more to himself than he realizes. When he and his teammates embark on their quest, disaster soon strikes, and Logan experiences not only the panic of being shipwrecked, marooned, and bereft of all supplies but also the excitement and challenge of an epic adventure he had previously only thought possible in books, daydreams, and fairy tales. Along the way, he is reunited with his best friend from childhood, Aurora, who joins him on his quest (and provides the occasional female perspective, as the story is sometimes told from her point of view). Their journey spans many months, a variety of dangers, and four corners of the known world. But in the end, they find that no matter how exotic the locale, one is never far from those big questions we all ask ourselves at some point – the ones about chasing dreams, conquering fear, and living a life worth living.

Review: This is an excellent fantasy story that I could just not stop reading. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves to get lost in an excellent fiction story. I found it really easy to get lost in this book and could read it over and over again. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sunday, 20 September 2015

Book Review | Suilyaniz Cintron | Windswept

Windswept


Author: Suilyaniz Cintron
Title: WindSwept
Genre: Drama, Performing Arts, Plays

Synopsis: The year is 1912 and Lady Amelia Williams is one of the wealthiest women in Manchester England and mother to the lovely Abigail. When James Thomas, the son of a family who has recently moved to the countryside is invited to dine at the Williams manor he encounters the secret that Amelia has long kept hidden behind the walls of her home. A woman enslaved into servitude and beautiful beyond words but donned in rags and treated in the cruelest, most appalling way. Her name is Magdalena and one look into her eyes, so full of pain and sadness is enough to capture James's heart. A story of tragedy, sorrow, loss and love, how much can two souls endure when there are those bent on tearing them apart?

Review: This is an excellent read that caught my attention from the first page. I could not stop reading and finished this book on the same day that I started reading it. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to get lost in a book. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | R.V. Johnson | Beyond The Sapphire Gate

Beyond the Sapphire Gate


Author: R.V. Johnson 
Title: Beyond The Sapphire Gate: The Flow Of Power
Genre: Science Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction

Synopsis: Beyond the Sapphire Gate is the fascinating world of Astura, a world where a frothing, river of magic addicts those who use the power it holds. Indentured to a private artifact collector on a dying world of high technology, Crystalyn naively activates a gateway. The temptation to touch it is too much for her sister Jade. Extending a fingertip into the mist, she vanishes. Crystalyn follows, stepping into a vibrant world infused with magic and those that Use. Aided by symbol magic killing her with each use, the defining line between good and evil is not as clear as Crystalyn once believed. The Dark Users want to help her, the Circle of Light wishes to use her. The War of a Hundred Seasons makes her choose. Half a world away, equipped with a seemingly useless ability to read auras, Jade embarks on a harrowing journey to escape the Dark Citadel with her soul intact. Propelled to Astura by a devious assault, Garn has only two desires. Reuniting family and destroying those enforcing his servitude. Some magic should remain untouched.

Review: This is an excellent book that I could not stop reading. I just could not close the file until I had finished the book. This is an amazing fantasy fiction story that grabs the reader from the first line. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves to read fantasy fiction. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Tuesday, 15 September 2015

Book Review | Brittany M. Willows | The Calypsis Project

The Calypsis Project


Author: Brittany M. Willows
Title: The Calypsis Project
Genre: Adventure, Fiction, Fantasy, Science Fiction

Synopsis: Humanity has all but abandoned a dying Earth, ravaged by plague and pollution. Six decades following the colonization of the planet Anahk, a series of events triggers a devastating war between the United Nations Planetary Defense and an extraterrestrial organization known as the Drocain Royal Empire. NOVEMBER 2438 . . . Ten years have passed and still the battle rages on. With no signs of a conclusion in sight, the men and women of the UNPD have been forced into desperation as the human race moves ever closer to the brink of defeat. And now, the fate of the entire galaxy may rest on the shoulders of a single alien warrior: the shamed graduate, Kenon Valinquint—a young Drahkori who enrolls in the Drocain Royal Empire in the hopes of one day redeeming himself. Unbeknownst to the young warrior, his decision has set in motion a staggering chain of events that could very well change the direction of the war, and the known history of the universe, forever.

Review: This was an excellent read. It was such a good read that I could not stop reading and before I knew it I had finished the story. I would recommend this to anyone who loves a good fantasy/fiction story. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | Chris Grams | 3 Down

3 Down


Author: Chris Grams
Title: 3 Down
Genre: Mystery, Thriller

Synopsis: Do you know how to hide a dead body? Heidi Artz is a recent divorcee nearing her 30th birthday. After buying a condo with the help of her best friend, Jane, Heidi throws a housewarming party. She’s got her eye on Jane’s sexy assistant and invites him with hopes of landing a date. The party is a success! Soon after everyone says their goodbyes, Heidi is brutally assaulted. Rage overriding intelligence, Heidi kills her attacker while trying to get away. Scared and uncertain, she calls Jane begging for assistance. While waiting for her friend’s arrival, Heidi sees a newscast announcing her ex-husband has been found murdered. At least parts of him have been found. Worried about being accused of her ex’s murder coupled with the murder she’s already committed, Heidi agrees when Jane decides calling the police is out of the question. The best friends are determined to get rid of the body themselves. Heidi has been receiving anonymous notes, dark messages containing instructions she must comply with or suffer consequences. In the beginning, Heidi thought those notes were pranks, jokes to keep her guessing. Now that her attacker is dead, the cryptic messages have to stop – or so she hopes. Magic – Obsession – Murder Someone is stalking Heidi Artz. Perhaps it’s a lustful neighbor or that perverted coworker who harasses all females. Maybe it’s simply a lovesick admirer. The faster she runs, the closer he gets. Hopefully, the police haven’t discovered her unintentional crime. Hopefully, they’re not following her. She keeps seeing a man in the distance, feels his presence, can smell him lingering. Heidi knows someone’s watching and waiting, a snake eager for the right moment to strike. Trying to focus on the right side of reason, Heidi finds that she and her life expectations have drastically changed. She vows to become self-sufficient and secure her own future no matter what it takes. She must find strength to escape a psychotic medicine man whose supernatural powers derive from a place far more terrifying than a government protected burial ground. With the body count rising, Heidi will have to do the unthinkable in order to survive.

Review: This is an excellent read and I could just not stop reading it until I had finished it. I love a good mystery/thriller story and this grabbed my attention from the minute I started reading it. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good mystery/thriller story. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Monday, 14 September 2015

Book Review | Joshua Blum | A Shadow In The Moonlight: A Thirteenth Hour Prequel

A Shadow in the Moonlight: A Thirteenth Hour Prequel


Author: Joshua Blum
Title: A Shadow In The Moonlight: A Thirteenth Hour Prequel
Genre: Fantasy

Synopsis: A gothic novelette about a young hunter who accidentally interrupts a wizard's spell which literally turns him into a living shadow, only able to venture into the world by night. He is doomed to spend the rest of eternity haunting the area where he was enchanted, hunting an elusive, ethereal deer night after night. Although his night vision becomes enhanced, and he is able to soar through the air with a shadow's weightlessness, interactions with other people leave him with such intense anxiety that he has no choice but to avoid them altogether. Help and danger collide when he encounters an injured runaway, whom he decides to help, despite the personal pain it causes. A stand alone prequel to the novel, "The Thirteenth Hour," by the same author. Approximately 11,000 words.

Review: This is a short read but also an excellent read. I could just not stop reading this book and it kept my attention to the end of the book. This is an excellent story all about magic and spells. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Saturday, 12 September 2015

Book Review | Donnielle Tyner | Lost

Lost: Volume 1 (The Caelian Cycle)


Author: Donnielle Tyner
Title: Lost: The Caelian Cycle
Genre: Science Fiction

Synopsis: During WW1 a meteorite crashed releasing a mist that changed the DNA of all who were exposed. One hundred years has passed and society is divided between the norms and the Caelians whose changed DNA awakened dormant gifts called talents. Sadie is over it. She's an orphan, her boyfriend was murdered and she's the only Caelian at St. Vincent's without a talent. Once she turns 18 there will be no place for her in the world. That is until a chance encounter with Kian, a Caelian boy who makes her feel uncomfortable and alive at the same time. Secrets of her past are uncovered and Sadie's latent, rare talent is exposed. With great power comes the hunters hired by an egomaniac who wants to use Sadie's power to establish Caelian dominance. On the run with Kian and her friends, Sadie will have to decide whether to hide or fight. Will Sadie accept her new reality or will she stay lost?

Review: This is an excellent book and I just was gripped from the first line. I could not stop reading this book and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good sci-fi story. This was a gripping story that I would happily read again and again and I would probably buy the physical copy of this book. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | Carmen Stevens | Anne

Anne


Author: Carmen Stevens
Title: Anne
Genre: Historical

Synopsis: 18th century England, 14 year old Anne Falkman is an arrogant, desperate orphan trying to live any way she can on the streets of London. Through her desolate, lonely years, a hope was born within her, the hope that fate would bless her and give her lasting happiness. Growing up with an abusive, alcoholic father, Anne has nurtured a fear of men. She also fears marrying and giving birth, which was the death of her mother and caused her father to go mad and violently hate his daughter. When a series of events gives Anne a chance for happiness, she takes it and achieves her dreams, but at what cost? Will she attain the life of happiness that she dreamed of? What choices are the best ones to make?

Review: This is an excellent read that I could just not stop reading. I read this book in a short time and I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a good read and getting lost in a book. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Friday, 11 September 2015

Book Review | Suren Hakobyan | Godforsaken: Shade Of Light

Godforsaken: Book 1: Volume 1 (Shade of Light)


Author: Suren Hakobyan
Title: Godforsaken Book 1 Shade Of Light
Genre: Fantasy, Fiction

Synopsis: Lily's dreams have always been haunted by a mystical stranger with green eyes, until the day comes that she unexpectedly meets that stranger in a club. He's wealthy and handsome, but those traits aren't the ones that mark him as being not like average men. In truth, he possesses a surreal power, and a set of angelic wings... An archangel turned outcast, Samael has wandered Earth for eons, unable to belong in either Heaven or Hell. However, he still holds a secret that both the angels and the fallen ones need to acquire at all costs. As soon as Lily meets Samael, her life is irrevocably altered. She herself is the secret at the heart of the war between angels and demons, and there's only one person who cares for her enough to try and save her from her fate: the exiled creature, Samael.

Review: This was an excellent read and I could not stop reading this book. This is an excellent fantasy/fiction story that will make the reader get lost in the book. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in fantasy and fiction books. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | SJ HIggins | The Dark Side Of Chemistry

The Dark Side Of Chemistry (The Chemistry Series Book 1)


Author: S.J Higgins
Title: The Dark Side Of Chemistry
Genre: Romance, Fiction

Synopsis: When Trent is given orders to leave his lab and to deploy to Afghanistan to test a highly confidential and dangerous serum which he has developed, Skyla can’t shake the feeling that the life she has with strong, dependable, loving, Trent is about to irrevocably change.
Her fears are soon realized when an unknown enemy, intent on revenge, grabs hold of hers, Trent’s and Trent’s unpredictable brother Jensen’s lives and plays puppet master.
A dangerous formula, a well kept secret, love and passion will change the course of three people’s lives more than they would ever have dreamed, or feared, possible.

Review: This was an excellent book that I just could not stop reading. I finished this book the day that I started reading it. This is an excellent fictional romance story that will keep anyone who enjoys romance stories attention for hours on end. I would recommend this book to enjoy who enjoys getting lost in a good book. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | Lucia Mann | A Veil Of Blood Hangs Over Africa | Bostick Communications

A Veil of Blood Hangs Over Africa: The Birthplace of Slavery


Author: Lucia Mann
Title: A Veil Of Blood Hangs Over Africa: The Birthplace Of Slavery
Genre: Historical, Fiction

Synopsis: The grief of the newly captured slaves was overpowered only by the lecherous brutality of their master. From a humble Tswanas Kraal to an opulent South African estate, you will be held captive by Lucia Mann's interweaving stories of loss, cruelty, courage and hope. You will never forget the characters who bring this tale so vividly to life. 
- Mabali - Who was stolen from the comfort of her ancient homeland and forced to endure decades of agony and ruthlessness.
- Nobuntu - who discovered the purity of love in the filth of a slave estate and who would ultimately give birth to zulu kings. 
- Shiya - The offspring of a white slave child who was forced to suffer the same indignities her mother suffered.
- Nigel and Alan Hallworthy - two cruel and callous men who inherited fortune and bought protection from their evil deeds.
- Brianna - Shiya's modern day heir who struggled to make sense of a history that was slowly eating away at her. 
This multi-generational tale takes one on a journey that starts with an encircling rope net; progresses to a filthy stifling slave ship; and ends at a rich slave estate where unthinkable acts take place. The thorny history of the birthplace of slavery comes to life with unforgettable characters yearning for liberty, meaning and justice. 

Review: This was an excellent read and I just couldn't bring myself to stop reading and put the book down. I am strongly against racism and slavery so it was saddening to read this book. This book outlines the true nature of slavery and how slaves were treated. It was very saddening to read how slaves were treated and that pretty much nobody cared enough to try and help them and that those who did care were disposed of by the rich and it was not investigated. Those who stood up for what was right where killed without there being any consequences. There is a mix of stories throughout this book that all interweave together. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to read historical accounts of slavery and the cruelty that slaves had to endure. This is a fictional book but the cruelty shown in this book would have been real for people who were actually slaves. This book is factual in how the slaves were treated and abused by their white masters even though the characters are not real. The white masters thought that they were above the law because they were rich and could afford to pay bribes. There are many issues faced in this book such as interracial marriage(which was illegal), racism(which is still as strong today as it was then) and the apartheid which meant that there was a separation between black and white people. 

I would like to thank Bostick Communications and Lucia Mann for sending me this book for free for review. Bostick Communications is a company that deals with press releases and they send out free books to book reviewers so that the books and authors can gain recognition. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Book Review | Marilyn Phillips | The Daughter We Didn't Know We Had | Goodreads Giveaway Win

The Daughter We Didn't Know We Had


Author: Marilyn Phillips
Title: The Daughter We Didn't Know We Had: The Tears, Fears And Joys Of A Mother Of A Transgender Child
Genre: Biography, Family And Lifestyle

Synopsis: When your beautiful son comes to you and says he has had feelings of suicide, your heart skips a beat. You do whatever it takes to get him help. When your beautiful son comes to you and says he wants to become a woman, your world is suddenly turned upside down. A million thoughts invade your mind. Fear becomes your constant companion and tears swell up inside you every time you think of what could be waiting ahead. You can't help feeling pride in your child for showing the kind of courage that would be needed for their long road ahead. You watch as your family struggles to come together and stay together in what will be the most trying of times.

Review: This is an excellent read and I just could not put the book down. Before I knew it I had finished the book within hours of me starting to read it. This is an inspiring story that would be an helpful read to anyone going through this situation or to the family of someone who is transgender. Throughout this book there is a strong sense of heart warming support within this family network especially whilst they are facing difficult times and decisions that may lead to a lot of negative reactions from people outside of the family. I think that it is excellent that they stuck together as this would be a great barrier against any negativity they may have had to face. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys an excellent read and enjoys a happy ending for real people dealing with real issues. I love this book as it shows that love and support are enough to get a family through the hardest of times.

I would like to thank the author and her family for this book, it really is such an excellent read, and for sharing such a personal and difficult story with complete strangers as a way to show your support to your daughter and to try and help others who are possibly struggling with being transgender. 

Rachel, congratulations on having the courage to make the decisions that were right for you and having the support of your family. You have such an amazing family and you are just amazing. Be sure to stay strong and beautiful. 

Marilyn, Thank you so much for posting that giveaway and I am so glad that I won and had a chance to read this excellent story. I am posting this review as a kindness to you so that others may see and buy your book and receive any help that it may encourage them to get. I will be sure to treasure this book and pass it down through the generations to come. I hope that if one of my children turn out to be transgender that I handle it with as much love and support as you did. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sunday, 6 September 2015

Book Review | Albina Hume | Miss Fortune

Miss Fortune


Author: Albina Hume
Title: Miss Fortune
Genre: Women, Health/Family/Lifestyle, Conservation

Synopsis: "Who would think that my inability to pronounce the letter R would turn my life upside down and lead me from Ukraine to South Africa?"
Albina Hume is often asked the same question - how did she meet her South African husband John, a property developer and a rhino breeder, who is 36 years her senior? She has always kept her response simple. Until now...
Her childhood fear that no one in Ukraine would want to marry a 'crow' at first resulted in various misfortunes, from failing dreams and relationships to even ending up in a police cell for 51 days, until she finally learned to focus on her dreams, not her fears. Now, Albina and John Hume have dedicated their lives to preventing the South African rhino population from becoming extinct by breeding rhinos for future generations.
In the past six years, they have bred over 500 white rhinos, with Albina emerging as a pro-rhino activist, advocating for an end to the war on trade in rhino horn that has only resulted in illegal trade and killing of rhinos and also people in Africa. Albina calls for legalising trade in horn - a renewable product - to help create harmony between African people and their natural heritage.

Review: This is an excellent read and I found it really easy to get into. This book is about the life of a woman and the good times and the bad. This story is also about the choices she made for her future. I found it hard to stop reading this book and would recommend it to pretty much anyone who loves to settle down and get lost in a book.

Star rating:   5 out of 5

Book Review | Preeti G | I Am An Angel's Daughter

Angel's Daughter: An inspiring story


Author: Preeti G
Title: Angels Daughter: An inspiring story, I am an angels daughter
Genre: Biographical, fiction, contemporary, women

Synopsis: At the age of seven, when Ganga is diagnosed with polio, she doesnt allow it to kill her spirit. Instead, she fills her life with renewed optimism and an undying philanthropism, inspiring the world around her. Her fight against poverty and discrimination for her disability becomes stronger as she grows up amidst highly defeating barriers of religious orthodoxy. 
Love comes in the form of Paul, lighting up the dreams extinguished in her long ago. But, later when this very love threatens her identity and choices, she keeps her faith alive, despite incidents around her failing her.
 
Years later, yet another shocking fatality is secretly planning its attack on her. Will she fall frail to the gall of this new adversity? Will this cruel twist of fate bring untold changes to her loved ones
lives? 

Review: This is an excellent read and I found it really easy to get into.  I would recommend this book to anyone who loves to read biographical stories.  This is a sad story to read as the child is ill but it is inspiring as she does not let it get her down.

Star rating:   5 out of 5